viernes, 9 de marzo de 2018

Saint Petersburg the "Venice of the North"

Jose Arcesio en Dailymotion: Saint Petersburg the "Venice of the North" It is the second most populated city in Russia, with 5,026,000 inhabitants (2013) and a metropolitan area of 5.85 million. It is located in the Leningrad Region, a name it shared with the city during Soviet times (1924-1991). The other names of the city were Petrograd from August 31, 1914 until January 24, 1924) and Leningrad after Lenin's death, January 24, 1924 until September 6, 1991). Also known as the "Venice of the North", due to its more than 400 bridges that cross the numerous canals that pass through it. It was founded by Tsar Peter the Great on May 27, 1703 with the intention of making it Russia's "window into the Western world." From then on it became the capital of the Russian Empire for more than two hundred years. When the Russian Revolution broke out, the city was the center of the rebellion. In March of 1918 the capital was transferred to Moscow. In January 1924, after the Bolshevik victory, the creation of the Soviet Union (1922) and the death of Lenin (1924), St. Petersburg changed its name to Leningrad, in honor of the communist leader Lenin. During the Second World War, the site of Leningrad took place, which lasted 29 months, in which the Germans constantly bombarded the city and blocked it so that it could not be supplied. After the defeat of Germany in 1945, the city was named Heroic City by the Soviet authorities. When disappearing the USSR with the consequent collapse of the Comunism, the city was renamed Saint Petersburg and has become an important economic and political center of the present Russia. Saint Petersburg is now the second largest city in the Russian Federation and one of the largest in Europe. The center of the city and other monuments of its surroundings are considered World Heritage by UNESCO since 1990. St. Petersburg is also the seat of the Constitutional Court of Russia. The name of Saint Petersburg is of German origin and means "city of San Pedro". Peter the Great named it in honor of his patron saint, rejecting that of Petrograd, who wanted to give him, in his honor, his German subjects that he had hired to build and work in the shipyards and the city. The city changed its name several times: It was called Petrograd, which means Peter City, adaptation to the Russian of the German Petersburg) between 1914 and 1924, following the conflict with Germany during the First World War, It was founded by Tsar Peter the Great on May 16 (27) 1703. The city of St. Petersburg is divided into eighteen districts. Saint Petersburg is also the administrative center of Leningrad Oblast and the Northwest Federal District. The Constitutional Court of the Russian Federation moved to St. Petersburg from Moscow in May 2008. St. Petersburg is home to more than 200 museums, many of them housed in historic buildings. The largest of the museums is the Hermitage Museum, with interiors of the former imperial residence and a vast collection of art and founded by Catherine II. The Russian Museum is a large museum dedicated to Russian art in particular Fuente: Fuente Imágenes:

No hay comentarios:

Publicar un comentario